What is Gluten?

I had been thinking how may times I was asked “what is gluten” over this Thanksgiving weekend. So I thought I would give a brief description and include things to avoid.

Gluten is the protein that makes your bread stretchy and chewy. Gluten is found in wheat, barley, rye, and derivatives of these grains (oats do not contain gluten but are often contaminated).

Things that contain Gluten:

-Wheat

-Rye

-Barley

-Spelt

-Kamut

-Triticale

-Oats (commercial)

-Semolina

-Malt

If you are on a GF diet you should avoid any foods containing these grains or their derivatives

 

Foods that contain Gluten:

-Bread

-Pasta

-Cereals

-Cookies

-Crackers

-Vinegar

-Soups

-Sauces

-Seasonings

-Artificial coloring

-Spices

-Candy

**Unless the package says gluten free

 

 

 

 

Office Hours

Monday 11am - 4pm
Tuesday 9am - 4pm
Wednesday 11am - 7pm
Thursday 10am - 5pm
Friday 10am - 2pm

Newsletter Signup


Reach Out

Children’s Wellness & Developmental Center
2006 State Highway 71 Suite 4
Spring Lake Hts, NJ 07762 Monmouth County
T: 732.919.1335
F: 732-782-0353
E: info@cwdcenter.com

Google Map